Namwali Serpell Emerged 2015 Winner Of Caine Prize For African Writing

Zambian writer Namwali Serpell has been announced as the winner of the  2015 Caine Prize for African Writing.

The announcement was made tonight, 6th of July at the  Bodeleian Libraries in Oxford, United Kingdom.

Namwali Serpell won the prize of £10,000 for her story ‘The Sack beating 4 other writers on the shortlist – two of which are Nigerian Elnathan John and Segun Afolabi.

Each shortlisted writer will take home £500.

Read the shortlisted stories here:

Namwali Serpell (Zambia) for “The Sack” in Africa39 (Bloomsbury, London, 2014)
Shortlisted in 2010 for “Muzungu”Read “The Sack”

Segun Afolabi (Nigeria) for “The Folded Leaf” in Wasafiri (Wasafiri, London, 2014)
Caine Prize winner 2005 for “Monday Morning”

Read “The Folded Leaf”

Elnathan John (Nigeria) for “Flying” in Per Contra (Per Contra, International, 2014)
Shortlisted in 2013 for “Bayan Layi”
Read “Flying”

F. T. Kola (South Africa) for “A Party for the Colonel” in One Story (One Story, inc. Brooklyn, New York City, 2014)

Read “A Party for the Colonel”

Masande Ntshanga (South Africa) for “Space” in Twenty in 20 (Times Media, South Africa, 2014)
Read “Space

Congratulations to Namwali, and the other shortlisted writers.  

Oh, and if you’re interested in African writing, and discussions based on African writing, you should check out the Guardian Q&A session with the 2015 Caine Prize Shortlisters

1 thought on “Namwali Serpell Emerged 2015 Winner Of Caine Prize For African Writing

  1. I just want to tell you that I’m all new to weblog and honestly savored your web site. More than likely I’m likely to bookmark your blog . You certainly have very good well written articles. Thank you for sharing your blog.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

%d bloggers like this: