INEC Declares PDP Candidate Ishaku Winner of Taraba Gubernatorial Race

Darius Ishaku of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) has won the Taraba supplementary governorship election held on Saturday.

The Returning Officer, Kyari Mohammed, who announced the result on Sunday in Jalingo, said Ishaku scored 369,318 votes to emerge victorious.

He said Aisha Alhassan of the All Progressives Congress (APC) came second with 275,984 votes, while David Kente of the Social Democratic Party (SDP), polled 29, 966 votes.

The returning officer said the there were 1,461,645 total registered voters in the state, of which 787,516 were accredited for the election.

Mohammed said that the total valid votes cast were 681,166, while the total votes rejected was 174,131.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) recalls that the April 11 governorship election was declared inconclusive by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) due to widespread irregularities.

INEC, on April 25, conducted supplementary election in 218 polling units in 10 council areas of the state.

The APC agent, Alhaji Gambo Umar, however, rejected the result stating that the party would challenge it in court.

On his part, the PDP agent, Rebo Usman, said, “this is a well deserved victory’’

1 thought on “INEC Declares PDP Candidate Ishaku Winner of Taraba Gubernatorial Race

  1. I simply want to tell you that I am just new to blogging and really liked this blog site. Likely I’m going to bookmark your blog . You certainly have terrific writings. Thank you for sharing your web page.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

%d bloggers like this: